Reconstruction

  • General renovation

    The general renovation of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden began in September 2010.  
     
    Until summer 2015, the Staatsoper will perform at the Schiller Theater in Berlin Charlottenburg. The address is as follows:  
     
    Staatsoper im Schiller Theater  
    Bismarckstr. 110  
    D-10625 Berlin  
     
    TEL: +49-(0)30-20 35 45 55  
     
    The Senate Department for Urban Development and Environment informs on the progress of the Staatsoper's general renovation on its homepage (German only): http://www.stadtentwicklung.berlin.de

    THE GENERAL RENOVATION

    Since autumn 2010, the most lavish renovation measures in the history of the Berliner Staatsoper – the Berlin State Opera – have been taking place at a cost of roughly € 296 million (gross). Contributing to the general renovation are the German federal government with about € 200 million as well as friends and patrons of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden with € 3 million.

    Following public debates about the redesign of the auditorium, the architect HG Merz was commissioned to renovate the historic monument. The ensemble of buildings comprising the Staatsoper is very much in need of a general overhaul. While complying with listed building requirements, structural defects are therefore being remedied and the antiquated building equipment updated in line with modern safety requirements. The accessibility, air-conditioning and fire protection are also being improved. The outer appearance of the opera house will, however, remain the same when viewed from a pedestrian perspective. The volume of the auditorium is being enlarged so as to improve the acoustics. To achieve this, the hall is being expanded upwards within the existing building structure by raising the historic ceiling. The design of the Opera House Unter den Linden will also include the restoration and design of fixtures and colour schemes from 1955.

    During the construction phase, the State Opera ensemble is performing in the Schiller Theater in the Berlin district of Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf.


    THE SOUND OF OPERA HISTORY

    1742:
    THE OVERTURE
    The opera house was opened in 1742 as a court opera house, and experienced its first premiere in the still uncompleted building. This thus saw the start of the more than 250-year successful collaboration between the Berliner Staatsoper and the current Berliner Staatskapelle.

    The architect Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff was commissioned to design the building. He conceived the opera in the Palladian style. The King selected a fortress site near the Kronprinzenpalais where he lived. By placing it on the city’s main axis – the Unter den Linden boulevard – and not as would be usual within the palace complex, this created Europe’s first independent theatre building as a cultural expression of the Enlightenment.

    The building, which was conceived as a nave, comprises the Apollo Hall (banqueting hall, foyer), the Theatre Hall (auditorium, ballroom) and the Corinthian Hall (stage and concert hall). Together with the Kronprinzenpalais, the Prinzessinnenpalais and the Zeughaus, the court opera house was the fourth prestigious building on Unter den Linden.

    1950–1955:
    THE INTERMEZZO
    After the Staatsoper had already been damaged in 1942 and undergone comprehensive renovation, the massive destruction in the last year of the war led to the decision to rebuild it.

    Plans became more concrete following the founding of the GDR state in October 1949 and the demolition of the Berlin royal palace. The former Poelzig student and Gropius assistant, Richard Paulick, was asked to produce a design for its reconstruction. The aim was to remove all stylistically incongruous changes that had been made during the building’s history and to reconstruct it in accordance with Knobelsdorff’s intentions.

    Within three years, Richard Paulick and his “Design Collective” succeeded in making the hitherto most important contribution to the GDR’s cultural renaissance. For example, the Apollo Hall with its ornament inspired by original motifs provides an excellent example of the creative but nevertheless responsible approach to dealing with existing heritage. The auditorium with its three galleries, which is unusually lavish by socialist standards, provides testimony to the cultural assuredness of the early 1950s.

    The Deutsche Staatsoper opened on 4 October 1955 with Wagner’s “Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg”.


    RICHARD PAULICK
    The architect Richard Paulick was born on 7 November 1903 in Roßlau (Anhalt). From 1923 to 1927 he studied architecture in Dresden and Berlin, including among others under Hans Poelzig. He also nurtured professional connections with the Bauhaus and worked in the office of Walter Gropius, which shaped his projects. He died on 4 March 1979 in Berlin.

    Richard Paulick had a turbulent life as an architect. He developed his first designs under the influence of the Bauhaus. As a person with strong political beliefs, he was forced to leave the country in the 1930s and did not return to Germany until 1950, when he settled in the GDR. Here his works have left their mark. In 1956 he was conferred the State Award for the reconstruction of the Staatsoper.

    From Knobelsdorff to Paulick, many architects have constantly changed the opera house and adapted it to meet new challenges and functions. And that is still happening today: with considerable constructional commitment and expertise, the opera is being optimally redesigned to create ideal conditions for the public and the opera players.


    THE FINALE
    The refurbishment of the Staatsoper with all the measures that are now being implemented will enable the Berlin venue to join the ranks of the internationally renowned opera houses. This will not only expand the production possibilities but will also make Berlin more attractive for tourists from all over the world. Berliners will still recognise their opera house as a familiar venue with the accustomed ambiance and will be able to enjoy the stage productions with improved sightlines and acoustics.

    The previous structural changes to the building, the social composition of the audience and in particular the musical performances have always been accompanied by changes in the acoustic qualities. The redesign of the Staatsoper is indeed to meet the new requirements.

    The reason why the design now being implemented is so convincing is because it presents the optimum solution at the end of a discussion process. It takes into account the historic appearance but also sensitively articulates where something new has been created.


    HG MERZ
    1947     Born in Tailfingen / Württemberg
    1969–1974 Studied architecture at the Technical University Stuttgart
    1981+1993 Founded practices in Stuttgart and Berlin
    1993–2007 Professor for Exhibition Design / Visual Communication at Pforzheim University
    Since 2008 Professor for Design and Experimental Creativity at the Technical University Darmstadt
    Since 2013 Chairman of the University Council of the Bauhaus University Weimar


    WHAT DO THE INDIVIDUAL BUILDING SECTIONS SOUND LIKE?

    The overall project encompasses 5 building sections: the opera house, which is divided into the auditorium and the fly tower, the “Intendanz” administration building, the rehearsal centre (on the site of the former “Magazin” storage building) and the underground link for moving scenery. This will enable a more efficient logistics for the Staatsoper’s repertoire operations.

    THE AUDITORIUM
    Waterproofing has been installed here to protect against groundwater. Decorative and historically protected fittings and furnishings have been freed of diverse contaminants, carefully catalogued, and put into storage. In terms of its design, the building is returning to Richard Paulick’s design vocabulary of the 1950s.

    THE FLY TOWER
    Here the stage equipment was first of all disassembled and the building secured with anchors to prevent it from floating upwards. Steel sheet waterproofing, which is up to 3 cm thick, was then installed. The principle for this waterproofing comes from ship building. An expert appraiser checks every centimetre of the 7-kilometre-long weld joint to ensure that it is impermeable.

    THE UNDERGROUND LINK
    The underground link not only enables scenery elements to be quickly transported on trolleys so that they are protected from the weather but also ensures that the various Staatsoper buildings are internally connected with one another in logistical terms. For example, the necessary technical rooms are housed in the underground link. All the supply lines, such as the electrical, heating, cooling and fire extinguishing ducts run through the underground link, which is therefore of particular importance for the Staatsoper’s technical provision. In addition, there are areas available for pre-assembling and storing stage scenery and decorations.

    THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING
    Here the decorative and historically protected fittings and furnishings were freed of contaminants, carefully catalogued and put into storage. On completion of the shell construction work in the building (waterproofing, facade and window refurbishment), the repaired decorative elements will be reinstalled.

    THE REHEARSAL CENTRE
    This will provide rehearsal facilities for the State Ballet, the choir and orchestra. A rehearsal space with the same dimensions as the main stage in the opera house will also be created here. This is where the Staatsoper ensemble will have their first opportunity to rehearse with the original scenery and the same stage size as in the opera house. The room can also be used as a second performance venue. The facade of the previous storage building will be reconstructed.

    ACOUSTICS AND REVERBERATION GALLERY
    The previous auditorium achieved too little timbre and, when occupied, achieved a reverberation time that was too short. This low value was caused by two factors: firstly the ratio of the low room volume to the number of audience members, and secondly the absorption of the high frequencies. In addition, the fabric coverings in the auditorium prevented the tones from being reflected. The intention is to therefore lengthen the reverberation time and thus improve the sound. The concept developed by the acousticians and the architects involves raising the ceiling, whereby the auditorium volume will be increased by almost half and the reverberation time can be substantially lengthened. The auditorium ceiling will be raised by 5 metres without changing the exterior appearance of the building. This added height will create a reverberation gallery. A sound-permeable structure has been developed based on the existing lattice and diamond-shape motifs in the building.


    The Staatsoper Unter den Linden has undergone continual change. As a result, the building, which has been listed as a historic monument since 1979, has a multilayered richness that is unparalleled. The modernisation will mark a further chapter in the history of the opera house. Under the supervision of the architect, HG Merz, the building has been undergoing the necessary general renovation since 2009. It is intended to improve the infrastructure in terms of the accessibility, air-conditioning, safety and fire protection, whereby the outer structure will be preserved and sensitively restored. In the interior space, conservation decisions will be made that achieve a balance between the requirements of a modern theatre venue and historic preservation interests. The auditorium is being restored from the front stalls to the gallery, and the colour scheme from 1955 is being recreated. Subsequent layers of paint will be removed, revealing the complete work of the architect Richard Paulick. Above the circles and gallery, the historic auditorium ceiling will be raised. As the new termination above the existing building fabric, a cornice will be created that develops out of the existing entablature.

    Barrier-free access will be achieved in the public parts of the building.

  • Webcam

    View of the construction site

  • Virtual Tour to the construction site

    Take a tour to the construction site of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden.

    › Virtual Tour

Sanierung

  • Generalsanierung

    Die Baumaßnahmen zur Sanierung der Staatsoper Unter den Linden haben im September 2010 begonnen.

    Die Vorstellungen der Staatsoper finden bis Sommer 2015 im Schiller Theater statt. Die Anschrift lautet:

    Staatsoper im Schiller Theater
    Bismarckstr. 110
    10625 Berlin

    TEL: 030-20 35 45 55


    Die Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt informiert über den Stand der Sanierung der Staatsoper auf ihrer Webseite: http://www.stadtentwicklung.berlin.de

    DIE GENERALSANIERUNG

    Seit Herbst 2010 findet für rund 296 Millionen € (brutto) die aufwendigste Sanierungsmaßnahme in der Geschichte der Staatsoper statt. An der Generalsanierung beteiligt sich die Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit 200 Millionen € und der Verein der Freunde und Förderer der Staatsoper Unter den Linden mit 3 Millionen €. Nach öffentlichen Diskussionen über die Neugestaltung des Zuschauersaals erhielt der Architekt HG Merz den Auftrag, das Baudenkmal zu sanieren. Für das Gebäudeensemble der Staatsoper besteht ein grundlegender Sanierungsbedarf. Unter der Einhaltung von denkmalpflegerischen Aspekten werden bautechnische Mängel beseitigt und die stark veraltete Gebäudeausstattung auf ein zeitgemäßes sicherheitstechnisches Niveau gebracht. Verbessert werden auch die Barrierefreiheit, die Klimatechnik und der Brandschutz. Die äußere Bauform der Oper bleibt aus der Fußgängerperspektive bestehen. Das Volumen des Zuschauersaals wird, um eine bessere Akustik zu erzielen, vergrößert. Dafür wird der Saal innerhalb der vorhandenen Gebäudekubatur durch Anheben der historischen Decke erweitert. Die Gestaltung des Operngebäudes Unter den Linden wird dabei in der Gestaltung mit Einbauten und Farben aus den 1955er Jahren ergänzt und wiederhergestellt. Während der Bauphase spielt das Ensemble der Staatsoper im Schiller Theater im Bezirk Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf.


    WIE KLINGT DIE OPERNGESCHICHTE?

    FRIEDRICH II.
    Friedrich II., auch Friedrich der Große oder Alter Fritz genannt, wurde am 24. 01. 1712 in Berlin geboren und starb am 17. 08. 1786 in Potsdam. Er war von 1740 bis 1786 König in Preußen und ab 1772 König von Preußen, zudem war er Kurfürst von Brandenburg.

    1742:
    DIE OUVERTÜRE
    Die Eröffnung des Opernhauses fand als Hofoper bereits 1742 mit einer ersten Premiere im noch unfertigen Bau statt. Damit begann die über 250-jährige erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Berliner Staatsoper und der heutigen Berliner Staatskapelle.

    Für die Planung wurde der Architekt Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff beauftragt. Er konzipierte die Oper im Stil des Palladianismus. Als Bauplatz wählte der König ein Festungsgelände in der Nähe des von ihm bewohnten Kronprinzenpalais. Durch die Platzierung auf der Hauptachse der Stadt – Unter den Linden – und nicht wie üblich innerhalb des Schlosskomplexes, entstand das erste eigenständige Theatergebäude Europas als kultureller Ausdruck der Ideen der Aufklärung.

    Das als Langhaus konzipierte Gebäude verfügt über den Apollosaal (Bankettsaal, Foyer), den Theatersaal (Zuschauerraum, Ballsaal) und den Korinthischen Saal, (Bühne und Konzertsaal). Mit dem Kronprinzen-, dem Prinzessinnenpalais und dem Zeughaus ist die Königliche Hofoper der vierte Prachtbau Unter den Linden.

    1950–1955:
    DAS INTERMEZZO
    Nachdem die Staatsoper bereits 1942 beschädigt und umfänglich renoviert worden war, führten schließlich die massiven Zerstörungen im letzten Kriegsjahr zu dem Entschluss des Wiederaufbaus.

    Nach der Staatsgründung der DDR im Oktober 1949 und dem Abriss des Berliner Schlosses wurden die Pläne konkret. Beauftragt wurde der ehemalige Poelzig-Schüler und Gropius-Assistent Richard Paulick, die Konzeption für den Wiederaufbau zu erstellen. Alle stilwidrigen Veränderungen, die im Laufe der Zeit das Haus überzogen hatten, sollen entfernt und das Gebäude im Sinne von Knobelsdorff wieder neu errichtet werden.

    Richard Paulick und seinem »Entwurfskollektiv« gelang es, innerhalb von drei Jahren den wichtigsten Beitrag zum kulturellen Wiederaufbau der DDR zu leisten. So ist beispielsweise der Apollosaal mit seiner Ornamentik, angelehnt an originale Vorbilder, ein exzellentes Beispiel für den kreativen und dennoch verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Traditionen. Ebenso ist der für sozialistische Verhältnisse ungewöhnlich prachtvolle Zuschauerraum mit seinen drei Rängen ein Zeugnis für das kulturelle Selbstverständnis jener frühen 1950er Jahre.

    Am 4. Oktober 1955 eröffnete die Deutsche Staatsoper mit Wagners »Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg«.


    RICHARD PAULICK
    Der Architekt Richard Paulick wurde am 7. November 1903 in Roßlau (Anhalt) geboren. Von 1923 – 27 studierte er Architektur in Dresden und Berlin unter anderem bei Hans Poelzig. Fachliche Verbindungen pflegte er auch zum Bauhaus und war Mitarbeiter im Büro von Walter Gropius, was seine Projekte prägte. Er starb am 4. März 1979 in Berlin.

    Richard Paulick hat als Architekt eine bewegende Geschichte hinter sich. Seine ersten Entwürfe entwickelte er unter dem Einfluss des Bauhauses. Als politisch engagierter Mensch musste er in den 1930iger Jahren das Land verlassen und kehrte erst 1950 in die DDR zurück. Hier hat sein Wirken Spuren hinterlassen. 1956 erhielt er den Staatspreis für den Wiederaufbau der Staatsoper.

    Von Knobelsdorff bis Paulick haben viele Architekten die Oper verändert und sie immer wieder den neuen Anforderungen und Funktionen angepasst. Das passiert auch heute noch: Mit großem bautechnischen Engagement und Fachkenntnis wird die Oper optimal umgestaltet, um für das Publikum und die Akteure der Oper ideale Bedingungen zu schaffen.


    DAS FINALE
    Die Sanierung der Staatsoper mit allen Maßnahmen, die jetzt umgesetzt werden, wird die Berliner Spielstätte in den Kreis der international bekannten Opernhäuser einreihen. Das erweitert die Aufführungsmöglichkeiten, macht Berlin aber auch attraktiv für Reisende aus aller Welt. Die Berlinerinnen und Berliner werden ihr Opernhaus mit dem gewohnten Ambiente, als vertraute Spielstätte wiedererkennen, und mit verbesserter Akustik die Aufführungen genießen können.

    Mit den bisherigen baulichen Veränderungen des Hauses, der sozialen Zusammensetzung der Besucherinnen und Besucher und insbesondere der musikalischen Darbietungen ging auch immer der Wandel von klanglichen Qualitäten einher. Mit der Neugestaltung der Staatsoper soll nun diesen neuen Anforderungen entsprochen werden.

    Der Entwurf, der jetzt umgesetzt wird, ist deshalb so überzeugend, weil er am Ende eines Diskussionsprozesses die optimale Lösung darstellt. Er berücksichtigt das historische Erscheinungsbild, macht aber auch einfühlsam deutlich, wo etwas Neues entstanden ist.


    HG MERZ
    1947 geboren in Tailfingen / Württemberg
    1969 –1974 Studium der Architektur an der Technischen Universität Stuttgart
    1981 + 1993 Gründung der Büros in Stuttgart und Berlin
    1993 – 2007 Professur für Ausstellungsgestaltung / Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hochschule Pforzheim
    seit 2008 Professur für Entwerfen und Experimentelles Gestalten an der Technischen Universität, Darmstadt
    seit 2013 Vorsitzender des Universitätsrates der Bauhaus Universität Weimar


    WIE KLINGEN DIE EINZELNEN BAUTEILE?

    Das Gesamtprojekt umfasst die 5 Bauteile: das Opernhaus, welches in Zuschauerhaus und Bühnenhaus unterteilt ist, die Intendanz, das Probenzentrum (auf der Fläche des ehemaligen Magazingebäudes) und das unterirdische Verbindungsbauwerk für den Kulissentransport. Hierdurch wird eine effizientere Logistik für den Repertoirebetrieb der Staatsoper möglich.

    DAS ZUSCHAUERHAUS
    Hier wurde eine Abdichtung zum Schutz gegen das Grundwasser eingebracht, die dekorativen und denkmalsgeschützten Ausbauten von diversen Schadstoffen befreit und nach sorgfältiger Kartierung eingelagert. Das Haus erfährt in seiner Gestaltung eine Rückführung auf die Formensprache der 50er Jahre von Richard Paulick.

    DAS BÜHNENHAUS
    Hier wurde zuerst die Bühnentechnik ausgebaut und das Gebäude mit Ankern gegen ein Aufschwimmen gesichert. Dann wurde eine bis zu 3,2 cm dicke Stahlblechabdichtung eingebracht. Dieses Prinzip der Abdichtung kommt aus dem Schiffsbau. Ein Gutachter überprüft jeden Zentimeter der insgesamt 7 km Schweißnaht, um eine Dichtigkeit sicherzustellen.

    DAS UNTERIRDISCHE BAUWERK
    Im Unterirdischen Bauwerk werden nicht nur Dekorationselemente in Lagerwagen witterungsunabhängig und schneller transportiert, sondern es dient auch der internen logistischen Erschließung der Gebäude der Staatsoper. So werden notwendige technische Betriebsräume im Unterirdischen Bauwerk untergebracht. Sämtliche Versorgungsleitungen, wie zum Beispiel Elektro-, Heizungs-, Kälte- und Feuerlöschleitungen verlaufen durch das Unterirdische Bauwerk, das damit von besonderer Bedeutung für die technische Versorgung der Staatsoper ist. Darüber hinaus stehen Flächen für die Vormontage und Lagerung von Kulissen und Dekorationen zur Verfügung.

    DIE INTENDANZ
    Hier wurden die dekorativen und denkmalsgeschützten Ausbauten von Schadstoffen befreit und nach sorgfältiger Kartierung eingelagert. Nach Fertigstellung der Rohbauarbeiten im Gebäude (Abdichtung, Fassaden- und Fenstersanierung) werden die reparierten dekorativen Elemente wieder eingebaut.

    DAS PROBENZENTRUM
    Hier werden Probemöglichkeiten für das Staatsballett, den Chor und das Orchester zur Verfügung gestellt. Ebenso entsteht hier ein Probenraum mit den gleichen Dimensionen wie die Hauptbühne im Opernhaus. Hier hat das Ensemble der Staatsoper zum ersten Mal die Gelegenheit in den originalen Kulissen und der gleichen Bühnengröße wie im Opernhaus zu proben. Der Raum bietet ebenso die Möglichkeit für eine 2. Spielstätte. Die Fassade des vorherigen Magazingebäudes wird wiederhergestellt.

    AKUSTIK UND NACHHALLGALERIE
    Der bisherige Saal erzeugte nur wenig Klangwärme und erreichte im besetzten Zustand eine zu geringe Nachhallzeit. Dieser geringe Wert hatte zwei Ursachen: zum einen das Verhältnis des geringen Raumvolumens zur Anzahl der Zuschauer, zum anderen die Absorption der hohen Frequenzen. Zusätzlich verhindern die Stoffbespannungen im Saal eine Reflexion der Töne. Die Nachhallzeit soll zukünftig vergrößert und dadurch der Klang verbessert werden. Das von den Akustikern und Architekten entwickelte Konzept sieht eine Anhebung der Decke vor. Das Saalvolumen erhöht sich fast um die Hälfte und die Nachhallzeit kann wesentlich verlängert erden. Die Anhebung der Saaldecke um 5 Meter geschieht, ohne das Erscheinungsbild des Gebäudes zu verändern. Durch diese Anhebung entsteht eine Nachhallgalerie. Ausgehend von den im Hause vorhandenen Gitter- und Rautenmotiven wurde eine schalldurchlässige Struktur entwickelt.


    Die Staatsoper Unter den Linden ist einem ständigen Wandel unterzogen. Dadurch zeigt das seit 1979 unter Denkmalschutz stehende Gebäude eine beispiellose Mehrschichtigkeit. Die Modernisierung wird ein weiteres Kapitel in der Baugeschichte der Oper sein. Die notwendige Generalinstandsetzung findet seit 2009 unter der Leitung des Architekten HG Merz statt. Verbessert werden sollen die Infrastruktur hinsichtlich Barrierefreiheit, die Klimatechnik, die Sicherheit und der Brandschutz. Die äußere Bauform wird dabei bewahrt und sensibel restauriert. Im Innenraum werden denkmalpflegerische Entscheidungen in Abwägung zwischen den Anforderungen an einen modernen Theaterbetrieb und dem Erhaltungsinteresse getroffen. Die Farbgestaltung der 1955er Jahre wiederhergestellt. Die seither hinzugekommenen Farbschichten werden entfernt und das Gesamtwerk des Architekten Richard Paulicks freigelegt. Oberhalb der Ränge wird die historische Saaldecke angehoben. Als neuer Abschluss über dem Bestand entsteht ein Kranzgesims, das sich aus dem bestehenden Gebälk entwickelt.

    Der barrierefreie Zugang wird in alle öffentlichen Teile des Gebäudes gewährleistet.

  • Webcam

    Blick über die Baustelle der Staatsoper Unter den Linden Richtung Norden

  • Virtueller Baustellenrundgang

    Erleben Sie hier einen virtuellen Rundgang durch die Baustelle der Staatsoper Unter den Linden.

    Zum Rundgang >>