Jewels

Choreography by George Balanchine
Music by Garbiel Fauré, Igor Stravinsky and Peter I. Tchaikovsky

According to legend, it must have been a dark winter day in the late 1960s, on which George Balanchine was swept away by sparkling jewelry, which he saw in a shop window on New York’s fancy 5th Avenue. And what did the successful choreographer do? Rather ...

According to legend, it must have been a dark winter day in the late 1960s, on which George Balanchine was swept away by sparkling jewelry, which he saw in a shop window on New York’s fancy 5th Avenue. And what did the successful choreographer do? Rather than simply to buy the beautiful diamonds, rubies, and emeralds, he was inspired by their splendor to create a new ballet, which he named "Jewels".
"Jewels" is a neoclassical full-length ballet and yet has no plot. However, "Jewels" is neither an abstract ballet, at least not in the eyes of George Balanchine: “Storyless is not abstract. Two dancers on the stage are enough material for a story; for me, they are already a story in themselves”. Having no plot, “Jewels” rather wants to seduce the senses by a perfect combination of music and movement.
According to Balanchine, the first lyrical part of the ballet named "Emeralds", set to music of Gabriel Fauré, shall evoke 19th-century France with all its elegance, high-fashion and refined perfumes. Following this logic, the second part called "Rubies" might then represent the energetic America of the Jazz age. For this part Balanchine chose the fiery music of Igor Stravinsky. Set to the music of Peter I. Tchaikovsky, the third part, "Diamonds", might reference the elegance and opulence of the ballets of Tsarist Russia. Hence, “Jewels” then does not only highlight different chapters of the history of dance, but, moreover, also important stages in the life of Balanchine, who had emigrated from Russia via France to the United States.
It is no secret that George Balanchine loved women. They dominate most of his choreographies. The virtues of his ideal dancers are strength, speed, precision, and balance. "Jewels" showcases these virtues spectacularly and celebrates them in the form of a parade of beauty. Balanchine’s probably most famous quote is: "Ballet is a woman". For Balanchine dance is foremost a feminine subject: “In my ballets, woman is first. Men are consorts. God made men to sing the praises of women. They are not equal to men: They are better.” Today, this mindset might seem a bit dated, but, knowing this, it is hardly surprising that Balanchine was married to four of his picture-perfect ballerinas. And one can almost see in "Jewels" a dancers’ competition for the attention of the spectator using their virtuosity and the language of dance to flirt subtly with the audience, just as if it were the charismatic choreographer himself.
Created in an extremely stylish era, in which Audrey Hepburn seduced America on the silver screen and Andy Warhol stirred up SoHo galleries with his ground-breaking pop art, "Jewels" has since then become a timeless classic itself. With a new set design especially created for Staatsballett Berlin by Pepe Leal and new, tasteful costumes by Spanish fashion designer Lorenzo Caprile, this particularly noble gem of dance comes in a new decor, which can only be seen in Berlin. And one thing is certain: This made to measure ballet gem will in particular – but not only – delight lovers of classical ballet!

Choreography © The George Balanchine Trust

  • Choreography
    • George Balanchine
  • Stage design
    • Pepe Leal
  • Costumes
    • Lorenzo Caprile
  • Light design
    • Perry Silvey
  • Choreographic assistance
    • Ben Huys
    • Patricia Neary
    • Sandra Jennings
  • Dancing
    • Solisten und Corps de ballet des Staatsballetts Berlin
  • Musical Direction
    • Paul Connelly

Jewels

Choreographie von George Balanchine
Musik von Gabriel Fauré, Igor Strawinsky und Peter I. Tschaikowsky

Der Legende nach war es wohl ein dunkler Wintertag in den späten 1960er Jahren, an dem das Funkeln von Juwelen in einem Schaufenster an der schicken New Yorker 5th Avenue George Balanchine in den Bann gezogen hat. Und was tat der erfolgsverwöhnte Choreograph? ...

Der Legende nach war es wohl ein dunkler Wintertag in den späten 1960er Jahren, an dem das Funkeln von Juwelen in einem Schaufenster an der schicken New Yorker 5th Avenue George Balanchine in den Bann gezogen hat. Und was tat der erfolgsverwöhnte Choreograph? Anstatt die wunderschönen Diamanten, Rubine und Smaragde einfach zu erwerben, ließ er sich von ihrem Glanz zu einem neuen Ballett inspirieren: „Jewels“.
„Jewels“ ist ein abendfüllendes Ballett im neoklassischen Stil, das keine Handlung hat. Doch „Jewels“ ist ebenso wenig ein abstraktes Ballett, zumindest nicht in den Augen von George Balanchine: „Ballett kann nie abstrakt sein. Ballett ist etwas durch und durch Konkretes, weil man Männer und Frauen sieht, die sich rascher und besser bewegen und besser aussehen als die meisten Menschen“, sagt Balanchine und fragt: „Gibt es etwas Konkreteres?“. Ohne Handlung versehen, will „Jewels“ die Sinne durch eine perfekte Kombination von Musik und Bewegung betören.
Der erste lyrische Teil mit dem Namen „Emeralds“, also Smaragde, zur Musik von Gabriel Fauré soll Balanchine zufolge die Romantik Frankreichs wachrufen mit all ihrer Eleganz, der beindrucken Mode und dem Duft raffinierter Parfums. Führt man diese Logik fort, so könnte der zweite Teil „Rubies“, die Rubinen, für das energiegeladene Amerika der Jazz-Ära stehen. Für diesen Teil wählte Balanchine die feurige Musik von Igor Strawinsky. Zur Musik von Peter I. Tschaikowsky weckt schließlich der dritte Teil „Diamonds“, die Diamanten, Erinnerungen an die Eleganz und Opulenz des Balletts des zaristischen Russlands. Aus dieser Sichtweise betrachtet zeichnet der Abend nicht nur unterschiedliche Abschnitte der Tanzgeschichte nach, sondern im Übrigen auch wichtige Stationen im Leben Balanchines, der aus Russland über Frankreich in die Vereinigten Staaten emigriert war.
George Balanchine liebte die Frauen, sie beherrschen die meisten seiner Choreographien. Die Tugenden seines Tänzerinnen-Ideals heißen Kraft, Schnelligkeit, Präzision und Balance. „Jewels“ stellt diese Tugenden spektakulär aus und zelebriert sie in Form einer Parade der Schönheit. So lautet der wohl berühmteste Ausspruch Balanchines: „Ballet is a woman“. Für Balanchine ist Ballett ein durchweg weiblicher Gegenstand: „Es ist eine Frau. Ein Mann hat es gern, Partner zu sein, ein Beistand, ein Chevalier. Das ist’s, warum Ballett existiert“. Wirkt diese Auffassung heute ein wenig aus der Zeit gefallen, wundert es zugleich aber kaum, dass Balanchine mit vier seiner bildschönen Ballerinen verheiratet war. Und so kann man in „Jewels“ fast schon einen Wettstreit der Tänzerinnen um die Gunst der Zuschauer erkennen, die sich ihrer Virtuosität bedienen, um mit den Mitteln des Tanzes subtil zu flirten, ganz so als ginge es zugleich um den charismatischen Choreographen.
Entstanden in einer äußerst stilvollen Ära, in der Audrey Hepburn auf der Kinoleinwand die Menschen betörte, und Andy Warhol in den Galerien für Aufruhr sorgte, ist „Jewels“ heute längst selbst zu einem zeitlosen Klassiker geworden. Mit einem eigens von Pepe Leal für das Staatsballett entworfenen Bühnenbild und neuen, geschmackvollen Kostümen des spanischen Modeschöpfers Lorenzo Caprile erscheint dieses besonders edle Schmuckstück der Tanzkunst in einem neuem Dekor, das so nur in der Hauptstadt zu sehen ist. Eines ist sicher: Bei diesem auf Maß gefertigten Edelballett werden insbesondere die Freunde des Balletts klassischer Prägung voll auf ihre Kosten kommen.

Choreographie © The George Balanchine Trust

  • Choreographie
    • George Balanchine
  • Bühne
    • Pepe Leal
  • Kostüme
    • Lorenzo Caprile
  • Licht
    • Perry Silvey
  • Einstudierung
    • Ben Huys
    • Patricia Neary
    • Sandra Jennings
  • Es tanzen
    • Solisten und Corps de ballet des Staatsballetts Berlin