Jürgen FlimmIntendant

Jürgen Flimm grew up in Cologne and studied there theatre science, German studies and sociology. In 1968 he became assistant director at the Münchner Kammerspiele and after that resident stage director at the Nationaltheater Mannheim and in 1973 resident ...

Jürgen Flimm grew up in Cologne and studied there theatre science, German studies and sociology. In 1968 he became assistant director at the Münchner Kammerspiele and after that resident stage director at the Nationaltheater Mannheim and in 1973 resident stage director at the Thalia Theater Hamburg. In 1979 he became artistic director of the Kölner Schauspiel and in 1985 he returned to the Thalia Theater Hamburg as general director which he ran for 15 years and made to one of Germany’s most successful theatres, artistically and economically.

Luigi Nono’s »Al gran sole carico d’amore« in 1978 was his first piece of opera work in Frankfurt. 1981 he staged Offenbach’s »Les Contes d’Hoffmann« at the Hamburg Staatsoper and in 1990 »Così fan tutte« in Amsterdam. For this production he worked with Nikolaus Harnoncourt for the first time, who has been his most important artistic partner since. Jürgen Flimm has worked at La Scala Milan, the Metropolitan Opera, the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, the Lyric Opera of Chicago, the Berlin Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Zurich Opera House as well as at the Vienna Staatsoper and the Hamburg Staatsoper, staging works by Beethoven, Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, Verdi, Gounod, Stravinsky, Cerha, Schreker, among others. In the summer of 2000 he directed a new production of Wagner’s »Ring« cycle at the Bayreuth Festival, in October 2000 he directed Beethoven’s »Fidelio« at the MET, in June 2002 he staged the world premiere of Friedrich Cerha’s »Der Riese vom Steinfeld« at the Vienna Staatsoper and in March 2004 he directed Richard Strauss’ »Salome« at the MET.

In 1987 Jürgen Flimm first worked at the Salzburg Festival directing Raimund’s »Der Bauer als Millionär«. In the following years he directed Nestroy’s »Das Mädl aus der Vorstadt«, Hofmannsthal’s »Der Schwierige«, Monteverdi’s »L’incoronazione di Poppea«, Purcell’s »King Arthur«, Mozart’s »Lucio Silla« and Rossinis »Moïse et Pharaon«.

2010 he staged the new production of »Wissen Sie, wie man Töne reinigt? Satiesfactionen« in the Werkstatt of the Staatsoper im Schiller Theater and 2011 Händel’s »Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno« at the Staatsoper im Schiller Theater. In May 2012 he staged Mozart’s »La clemenza di Tito« at the Vienna Staatsoper.

Jürgen Flimm was a professor at the University of Hamburg and is a member of the Academies of the Arts in Hamburg, Munich, Berlin and Frankfurt; he holds an honorary doctorate from the University of Hildesheim. He has received prizes and awards including the Grimme Prize, the Medal for the Arts and Sciences of the Free Hanseatic City of Hamburg, the Konrad-Wolf-Prize of the Academy of the Arts in Berlin, the Max-Brauer-Prize of the Alfred Toepfer Foundation F.V.S., the German Federal Cross of Merit as well as the Austrian Cross of Honor for Arts and Science and the Award of Honor of the State of Salzburg.

From 1999 to 2003 Jürgen Flimm was President of the German Stage Association, from 2002 to 2004 head of drama at the Salzburg Festival. From 2005 to 2008 he took over the Ruhrtriennale as artistic director. From 2007 until 2010 he was the artistic director of the Salzburg Festival. Since September 2010 he took over the position of the Director at the Berlin Staatsoper im Schiller Theater.

Book publications, among others:
Götterdämmerung, Propyläen Verlag 2000
Der Theatergänger, Steidl Verlag 2004
Theaterbilder, Steidl Verlag 2008
Die gestürzte Pyramide, Müry Salzmann Verlag 2010
Das Salzburger Kapitel, Müry Salzmann Verlag 2010

Photo: (c) Doris Spiekermann-Klaas

Jürgen FlimmIntendant

Jürgen Flimm wuchs in Köln auf und studierte dort Theaterwissenschaft, Germanistik und Soziologie. 1968 wurde er Regieassistent an den Münchner Kammerspielen, dann Spielleiter am Nationaltheater Mannheim und 1973 Oberspielleiter am Thalia Theater Hamburg. ...

Jürgen Flimm wuchs in Köln auf und studierte dort Theaterwissenschaft, Germanistik und Soziologie. 1968 wurde er Regieassistent an den Münchner Kammerspielen, dann Spielleiter am Nationaltheater Mannheim und 1973 Oberspielleiter am Thalia Theater Hamburg. 1979 wurde er Intendant des Kölner Schauspiels. 1985 kehrte er als Intendant ans Thalia Theater zurück, das er fünfzehn Jahre lang leitete und zu einem der künstlerisch und wirtschaftlich erfolgreichsten Sprechtheater Deutschlands machte.

Luigi Nonos »Al gran sole carico d’amore« war 1978 seine erste Opernarbeit in Frankfurt. 1981 folgte Jacques Offenbachs »Les Contes d’Hoffmann« an der Hamburger Staatsoper, 1990 in Amsterdam »Così fan tutte«. Hier arbeitete er zum ersten Mal mit Nikolaus Harnoncourt zusammen, der seitdem sein wichtigster künstlerischer Partner wurde. An der Mailänder Scala, der Metropolitan Opera, dem Royal Opera House Covent Garden, der Chicago Opera, der Berliner Staatsoper, der Zürcher Oper sowie der Wiener und der Hamburger Staatsoper hat Jürgen Flimm in den vergangenen Jahren Werke u. a. von Beethoven, Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, Verdi, Gounod, Strawinsky, Cerha, Schreker inszeniert. Im Sommer 2000 erarbeitete er bei den Bayreuther Festspielen einen neuen Ring, im Oktober 2000 inszenierte er Beethovens »Fidelio« an der MET, im Juni 2002 war er für die szenische Umsetzung der Uraufführung von Friedrich Cerhas »Der Riese vom Steinfeld« an der Wiener Staatsoper verantwortlich und im März 2004 inszenierte er Richard Strauss’ Salome an der MET.

1987 begann die Zusammenarbeit mit den Salzburger Festspielen mit Raimunds »Der Bauer als Millionär«. Es folgten »Das Mädl aus der Vorstadt« von Johann Nestroy, Hofmannsthals »Der Schwierige«, Monteverdis »L’incoronazione di Poppea« sowie Purcells »King Arthur«, Mozarts »Lucio Silla« und Rossinis »Moïse et Pharaon«.

2010 inszenierte er »Wissen Sie, wie man Töne reinigt? Satiesfactionen« in der Werkstatt der Staatsoper im Schiller Theater und 2011 Händels »Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno« in der Staatsoper im Schiller Theater. Im Mai 2012 inszenierte er Mozart’s »La clemenza di Tito« an der Wiener Staatsoper.

Jürgen Flimm war Professor an der Universität Hamburg und ist Mitglied der Akademien der Künste in Hamburg, München, Berlin und Frankfurt sowie Ehrendoktor der Universität Hildesheim. Zu seinen Auszeichnungen zählen u. a.: der Grimme-Preis, die Medaille für Kunst und Wissenschaft der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg, der Konrad-Wolf-Preis der Akademie der Künste Berlin, den Max-Brauer-Preis der Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S., das Bundesverdienstkreuz sowie das Österreichische Ehrenkreuz für Kunst und Wissenschaft und das Ehrenzeichen des Landes Salzburg.

Von 1999 bis 2003 war Flimm Präsident des Deutschen Bühnenvereins. Von 2002 bis 2004 Leiter des Schauspiels der Salzburger Festspiele. 2005-2008 leitete er die RuhrTriennale und war 2007 bis 2010 Intendant der Salzburger Festspiele. Seit September 2010 ist er Intendant der Staatsoper Unter den Linden.

Buchveröffentlichungen u. a.:
Götterdämmerung, Propyläen Verlag 2000
Theatergänger, Steidl Verlag 2004
Theaterbilder, Steidl Verlag 2008
Das Salzburger Kapitel, Müry Salzmann Verlag 2010
Die gestürzte Pyramide, Müry Salzmann Verlag 2010

Foto: (c) Doris Spiekermann-Klaas