West-Eastern Divan Orchestra

For 15 Years now, the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra has been a significant presence in the international music world. In 1999, Daniel Barenboim and the late Palestinian literary scholar Edward Said created a workshop for young musicians from Israel, Palestine ...

For 15 Years now, the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra has been a significant presence in the international music world. In 1999, Daniel Barenboim and the late Palestinian literary scholar Edward Said created a workshop for young musicians from Israel, Palestine and several Arab countries to promote coexistence and intercultural dialogue. They named the orchestra after Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s collection of poems entitled “West-Eastern Divan”, a central work for the development of the concept of world culture.
The West-Eastern Divan Orchestra’s first sessions took place in Weimar and Chicago. In 2002, it found a permanent home in Seville, Spain, where it is generously supported by the regional government of Andalusia (Junta de Andalucía). An equal number of Israeli and Arab musicians form the base of the orchestra, together with a group of Spanish members. They meet each summer in Seville for a workshop, where rehearsals are complemented by lectures and discussions and followed by an international concert tour.
The West-Eastern Divan Orchestra has proved time and again that music can break down barriers previously considered insurmountable. The only political aspect that prevails in the work of the WEDO is the conviction that there is no military solution to the Arab-Israeli conflict, and that the destinies of Israelis and Palestinians are inextricably linked. Through its work and existence the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra demonstrates that bridges can be built to encourage people to listen to the narrative of the other.
While music alone cannot resolve the Arab-Israeli conflict, it grants the individual the right and obligation to express himself fully while listening to his neighbour. Based on this notion of equality, co-operation and justice for all, the orchestra represents an alternative model to the current situation in the Middle East.
The orchestra is also a platform for the encounter between the world religions connected by the role of Israel and Palestine as a place of particular spiritual significance. Besides Jews and Muslims, its members include Christians from Catholic, Protestant and Eastern Orthodox congregations to which a significant minority of Arabs belong.
The Orchestra’s repertoire expands beyond symphonic works to opera and chamber music performances. Concert highlights have included performances at the Berliner Philharmonie, the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, the Musikverein in Vienna, Carnegie Hall in New York, the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow, the Hagia Eirene Museum in Istanbul, the Salle Pleyel in Paris, the Plaza Mayor in Madrid and the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires as well as a concert in honour of Secretary-General Kofi Annan at the General Assembly Hall of the United Nations in New York in December 2006. The orchestra is a regular guest at the BBC Proms and festivals such as Salzburg or Lucerne.
The West-Eastern Divan Orchestra has released a number of highly acclaimed CDs/DVDs. These include live recordings of Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 / Verdi: ouverture from La forza del destino / Sibelius: Valse triste (2004); the emblematic concert at the Cultural Palace in Ramallah (2005); Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 (2006); Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat / Beethoven: ouverture from Leonore (2007); and Schönberg: Variations for Orchestra / Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 (2011); the complete Beethoven symphony cycle (2012). The documentary “Knowledge is the Beginning” by Paul Smaczny has won several awards, among them an International Emmy (2006). Most recently a recording of Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique was released in July 2013.


Support the WEDO
An important part of the funds needed to continue the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra’s unique project is provided by its loyal audiences: All proceeds from the orchestra’s tours are used to realize its vision.
The Orchestra and the projects it supports also rely on the generosity of individuals and corporations to finance many of its activities and scholarships. Please contribute generously.
Donations are fully tax deductible according to German law can be made through the Daniel Barenboim Stiftung online, by wire or check. Partner foundations in the USA, the UK and Spain allow our supporters to take advantage of deductions in these jurisdictions as well. Please see our website (www.west-eastern-divan.org) for details. We would also like to thank the Junta de Andalucía for its continued support.
All funds raised are used to finance the Orchestra workshops and tours, but also to develop various music education projects in the Middle East and beyond. The Edward Said Kindergarten, a joint-venture with the Palestinian Medical Relief Society, opened its doors in Ramallah in October 2004. The Barenboim-Said Centre in Ramallah and our partner organizations in Israel and Palestine provide instrumental and singing lessons and organize yearly orchestra workshops; classes are open to all students irrespective of social or ethnic background. Already since 2003, the organization of public concerts in Palestine has been another important area of our activities. The programme so far has included performances by internationally renowned performers such as Daniel Barenboim, Elisabeth Leonskaja, Emmanuel Pahud or András Schiff as well as recitals by teachers, members of the WEDO, and students.
An exciting new project is the foundation of the Barenboim-Said Academy Berlin as a permanent base for all Barenboim-Said projects. At the Academy’s center will be the Pierre Boulez Concert Hall designed by Frank Gehry.

Daniel Barenboim Stiftung
Tabaré Perlas, CEO
Tel: +49 30 206 0799-0
info@daniel-barenboim-stiftung.org
Leipziger Strasse 40, 10117 Berlin, Germany

Deutsche Bank, account no. 761892900, BLZ 10070000
IBAN DE 08100700000761892900, BIC DEUTDEBBXXX

West-Eastern Divan Orchestra

Seit mehr als 10 Jahren ist das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra eine feste Größe in der internationalen Musikwelt. 1999 rief Daniel Barenboim, gemeinsam mit dem palästinensischen Literaturwissenschaftler Edward Said, ein Orchester ins Leben mit dem Ziel ...

Seit mehr als 10 Jahren ist das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra eine feste Größe in der internationalen Musikwelt. 1999 rief Daniel Barenboim, gemeinsam mit dem palästinensischen Literaturwissenschaftler Edward Said, ein Orchester ins Leben mit dem Ziel, den Dialog zwischen den verschiedenen Kulturen des Nahen Ostens durch die Erfahrungen gemeinsamen Musizierens und des Zusammenlebens zu ermöglichen. Sie benannten Orchester und Workshop nach Johann Wolfgang von Goethes Sammlung von Gedichten »West-östlicher Divan«, einem zentralen Werk für die Entwicklung des Begriffs der Weltkultur.

Die ersten Arbeitsphasen fanden in Weimar und Chicago statt, im Jahre 2002 konnte Sevilla als fester Sitz des Orchesters gewonnen werden, wo es großzügige Unterstützung vonseiten der andalusischen Regierung (Junta de Andalucía) erhält. Das Orchester besteht zu gleichen Teilen aus israelischen und arabischen Musikern sowie einigen Spaniern. Die Musiker kommen jeden Sommer zu Probenphasen, angereichert mit Vorträgen und Diskussionen, in Andalusien zusammen, bevor sie auf eine internationale Konzerttournee gehen.

In den Jahren seines Bestehens hat das Projekt immer wieder belegt, dass Musik vermeintlich unüberwindbare Barrieren abbauen kann. Der einzige politische Aspekt der Arbeit des West-Eastern Divan Orchestra ist die Überzeugung, dass es keine militärische Lösung des Nahostkonfliktes geben kann und das die Schicksale von Israelis und Palästinensern untrennbar miteinander verbunden sind. Durch seine schiere Existenz beweist das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, dass es möglich ist, Menschen zum gegenseitigen Zuhören zu bewegen.

Musik allein kann selbstverständlich nicht den arabisch-israelischen Konflikt lösen. Jedoch gibt sie dem Einzelnen das Recht und die Verpflichtung, sich vollständig auszudrücken und dabei dem Nachbarn Gehör zu schenken. Auf den Prinzipien von Gleichheit, Kooperation und Gerechtigkeit für alle beruhend, stellt das Orchester ein Alternativmodell zur derzeitigen Situation im Nahen Osten dar.

Bisherige Konzerte führten das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra unter anderem in die Berliner Philharmonie, das Teatro alla Scala in Mailand, den Musikverein in Wien, die Carnegie Hall in New York, das Tschaikowsky-Konservatorium in Moskau, das Hagia Eirene Museum in Istanbul, den Salle Pleyel in Paris, den Plaza Mayor in Madrid und das Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires sowie in die Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen anlässlich der Verabschiedung des Generalsekretärs Kofi Annan am 18. Dezember 2006 in New York. Zudem ist das Orchester regelmäßiger Gast bei den BBC Proms und den Salzburger Festspielen.

Das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra hat zahlreiche CDs und DVDs eingespielt, z.B. Tschaikowskys Sinfonie Nr. 5, Verdis Ouvertüre aus La Forza del Destino und der Valse Triste von Sibelius (2004), Beethovens Sinfonie Nr. 9 (2006) oder das symbolträchtige Konzert im Kulturpalast von Ramallah (2005). 2011 erschien eine Aufnahme von Schönbergs Variationen für Orchester op. 31 und Tschaikowskys Symphonie Nr. 6 sowie eine DVD mit Mozarts Sinfonia Concertante / Beethovens Leonoren Ouvertüre und Schönbergs Variationen für Orchester op. 31 / Tschaikowskys Symphonie Nr. 6. Die Dokumentation »Knowledge is the beginning« von Paul Smaczny wurde mehrfach international ausgezeichnet, so mit einem Emmy Award im Jahr 2006.

Im Jahr 2012 legte das Orchester seinen Fokus auf einen Zyklus aller Sinfonien Ludwig van Beethovens. Begleitend dazu ist im Mai 2012 eine Gesamtaufnahme der Sinfonien bei Decca Classics erschienen. Die Sommer-Tour im Juli brachte die Musiker in zahlreiche europäische Städte. Highlights waren die Fortsetzung des überaus erfolgreichen Open-Air Konzerts in der Waldbühne Berlin (mehr Informationen unter www.waldbuehnenkonzert.de) und eine Aufführung aller Beethoven-Sinfonien in der Royal Albert Hall als Teil der BBC Proms.

Unterstützen Sie das WEDO

Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur kontinuierlichen Finanzierung des West-Eastern Divan Orchestra leistet unser loyales Publikum: alle Einnahmen der Orchestertourneen dienen zur Verwirklichung unserer Vision.

Zudem sind das Orchester und die von ihm unterstützten Projekte auf die großzügige Unterstützung von Einzelpersonen und Unternehmen angewiesen, um auch weiterhin ihre Aktivitäten und Stipendien ermöglichen zu können. Auch Sie können mit Ihrer Spende einen großen Beitrag leisten.
Spenden für das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra über die Daniel Barenboim Stiftung können online, via Überweisung oder per Scheck möglich und sind in Deutschland steuerabzugsfähig. Über unsere Partnerstiftungen in Spanien, den USA und Großbritannien sind Steuerabzüge auch in anderen Ländern möglich. Bitte vergleichen Sie hierzu unsere Internetseite (www.daniel-barenboim-stiftung.org).

Alle Spenden finanzieren die Arbeits- und Tourneephasen des Orchesters, aber auch verschiedene musikpädagogische Projekte, vorwiegend in Nahen Osten. Im Oktober 2004 wurde – in Kooperation mit der palästinensischen Organisation Medical Relief - der Edward Said Kindergarten in Ramallah eröffnet. Instrumental- und Gesangsunterricht wird unabhängig vom sozialen Hintergrund im Barenboim-Said Centre in Ramallah und von unseren Partnerorganisationen in Nazareth und Jaffa erteilt. Bereits seit 2003 ist die Veranstaltung öffentlicher Konzerte in Palästina ein weiterer Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit. Im Rahmen dieses Programms traten bereits so international renommierte Künstler wie Daniel Barenboim, Andras Schiff, Elisabeth Leonskaja und Emmanuel Pahud auf, ebenso wie viele unserer Lehrer, Mitglieder des West-Eastern Divan Orchestra und natürlich auch unsere Musikschüler.

Ein spannendes neues Projekt ist die Gründung der Barenboim-Said Academy in Berlin als feste Basis für alle Barenboim-Said-Projekte. Die Eröffnung ist für 2015 geplant.