Festtage 2014

X

18. April 2014

11-20 April 2014

An array of great artists, a sophisticated programme, and a season’s highlight. In 2014 we will once again be bringing you some extraordinary opera and concert events during the Easter FESTTAGE festival: Two musical theatre productions ...

11-20 April 2014

An array of great artists, a sophisticated programme, and a season’s highlight. In 2014 we will once again be bringing you some extraordinary opera and concert events during the Easter FESTTAGE festival: Two musical theatre productions and three concerts with Daniel Barenboim either conducting or at the piano.

The opera programme recognises two 200 year anniversaries occurring in the 2013/14 season, namely those of Richard Wagner and Giuseppe Verdi. We are marking these by presenting works from their middle years. We will be honouring Wagner with a new staging of »Tannhäuser«, and Verdi by restaging his opera »Simon Boccanegra«. Just as in the 2009 premiere, the great Plácido Domingo will be singing the title role, with the support of two other outstanding singers – Anja Harteros and Fabio Sartori. The »Tannhäuser« production, which will be staged three times during the FESTTAGE, treats you to top singers at the peak of their profession – Peter Seiffert, Marina Poplavskaya, René Pape and Peter Mattei are in a class of their own.

In accordance with established tradition, Plácido Domingo, Daniel Barenboim, Staatskapelle Berlin and Staatsopernchor will give a symphony concert in the Philharmonie building, this time the rarely performed requiem by Max Reger is the highlight. We are glad to welcome Wiener Philharmoniker as a guest orchestra. Daniel Barenboim has worked with them on a number of previous occasions and their Mozart performance promises to be something to look forward to. Finally, two great pianists from Buenos Aires who have both made world careers for themselves and are famous for their charisma as well as their profound interpretation of music will bring us something very special: Martha Argerich and Daniel Barenboim are to give a recital of piano duets.

April 2014

18Friday

20:00

FESTTAGE | 

Symphony Concert

Daniel Barenboim | Plácido Domingo | Staatskapelle Berlin

Philharmonie Berlin - Großer Saal


115 | -- | -- | -- | -- | 22 | -- EUR

19Saturday

16:00

FESTTAGE | 

Piano Recital

Martha Argerich | Daniel Barenboim

Philharmonie Berlin - Großer Saal


115 | 95 | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- EUR

20Sunday

16:00

FESTTAGE | 

Tannhäuser

Grand romantic opera in three acts | Text and music by Richard Wagner | Dresden version including the »Bacchanal« (Act 1, Scene 1) of the Paris version (1861)

Staatsoper im Schiller Theater


260 | 210 | -- | 110 | -- EUR

Festtage 2014

X

18. April 2014

11.-20. April 2014

Ein Aufgebot großer Künstler, ein anspruchsvolles Programm, ein Höhepunkt der Saison: Auch 2014 lassen die FESTTAGE zu Ostern wieder außergewöhnliche Opern- und Konzerterlebnisse erwarten: Zwei Musiktheaterproduktionen sowie drei ...

11.-20. April 2014

Ein Aufgebot großer Künstler, ein anspruchsvolles Programm, ein Höhepunkt der Saison: Auch 2014 lassen die FESTTAGE zu Ostern wieder außergewöhnliche Opern- und Konzerterlebnisse erwarten: Zwei Musiktheaterproduktionen sowie drei Konzerte, mit Daniel Barenboim als Dirigent beziehungsweise Pianist.

Das Opernprogramm steht dabei ganz im Zeichen der beiden Jubilare der Saison 2013/14, Richard Wagner und Giuseppe Verdi. Ihr Geburtstag jährte sich 2013 zum 200. Mal. Beide sind mit Werken aus der mittleren Phase ihres Schaffens vertreten: Wagner wird durch eine Neuinszenierung seines »Tannhäuser« geehrt, Verdi durch eine Wiederaufnahme von »Simon Boccanegra«. Wie bei der Premiere 2009 wird kein Geringerer als Plácido Domingo die Titelpartie gestalten, ihm zur Seite stehen mit Anja Harteros und Fabio Sartori zwei weitere großartige Künstler. Spitzensänger ihres Fachs hat auch die »Tannhäuser«-Produktion zu bieten, die drei Mal während der FESTTAGE gezeigt wird – Peter Seiffert, Marina Poplavskaya, René Pape und Peter Mattei bilden ein Ensemble der Extraklasse.

Plácido Domingo, Daniel Barenboim, die Staatskapelle Berlin und der Staatsopernchor werden, wie es gute Tradition geworden ist, auch wieder ein Sinfoniekonzert in der Philharmonie bestreiten – Höhepunkt ist die Aufführung von Max Regers selten zu hörendem Requiem. Als Gastorchester sind zum ersten Mal die Wiener Philharmoniker präsent, mit denen Daniel Barenboim schon oft zusammengearbeitet hat – auf »ihren« Mozart kann man sich zu Recht freuen. Und schließlich gibt es ein Duo-Programm der besonderen Art: Martha Argerich und Daniel Barenboim spielen gemeinsam Klavier. Zwei große Pianisten aus Buenos Aires, die Weltkarriere gemacht haben und die für ihr Charisma ebenso bekannt sind wie für ihre tiefgründigen musikalischen Interpretationen.

April 2014

18Freitag

20:00

FESTTAGE | 

Sinfoniekonzert

Daniel Barenboim | Plácido Domingo | Staatskapelle Berlin

Philharmonie Berlin - Großer Saal


115 | -- | -- | -- | -- | 22 | -- EUR

19Samstag

16:00

FESTTAGE | 

Klavierrecital

Martha Argerich | Daniel Barenboim

Philharmonie Berlin - Großer Saal


115 | 95 | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- EUR

20Sonntag

16:00

FESTTAGE | 

Tannhäuser

und der Sängerkrieg auf Wartburg

Große romantische Oper in drei Aufzügen | Text und Musik von Richard Wagner | Dresdner Fassung unter Einbeziehung des »Bacchanals« (1. Akt, 1. Szene) der Pariser Fassung (1861)

Staatsoper im Schiller Theater


260 | 210 | -- | 110 | -- EUR